Hakluyt Society Research Funding & Essay Prize

Hakluyt Society Essay Prize

The Hakluyt Society awards an annual essay prize (or more than one, if the judges so decide) of up to a total of £750. The competition is open to any registered graduate student at a higher education institution (a university or equivalent) or to anyone who has been awarded a graduate degree in the past three years. The prize will be presented at the Hakluyt Society’s Annual General Meeting in London in June 2017, where winners will be invited to attend as the Society’s guests. Travel expenses within the UK will be reimbursed and winners will also receive a one-year membership of the Hakluyt Society. The deadline for submissions is 30 November 2016.
For further details, and instructions on how to submit your essay, please download the information sheet.

Research Funding Initiative from the Hakluyt Society

In furtherance of the principal objects of the Hakluyt Society, to promote the study of historical exploration, travel, and worldwide cultural encounter, the Society, in a new initiative, has established two schemes of research funding. These are:

  • The Hakluyt Society Research Grant, up to six of which will be available per calendar year, with a maximum allocation of £1500 each.
  • The Hakluyt Society Short-Term Fellowship, two of which will be available per calendar year. The Fellowship may be held for a maximum of four months, with a maximum allowance of £1650 per month.
  • These funding opportunities are open to anyone whose research interests meet with and promote the objects of the Hakluyt Society. All applicants must be members of the Hakluyt Society.
  • This year’s deadline for applications has now passed, but please consider your eligibility for an award in the following year, the deadline for which will be February 2017. If you think you might be eligible for the award of a research grant or short-term fellowship, please download the Application Form, which gives further details.

The Society is delighted to announce that all six research grants and one short-term fellowship were awarded for the year 2016. The names and affiliations of the successful applicants, together with working titles for their intended research, are given below. To view these applications in greater detail, along with abstracts explaining the nature of the work involved, please click or tap here.

Research Grants awarded for the year 2016:

Professor Daniel Carey (University of Galway) and Dr Gabor Gelléri (University of Aberystwyth): ‘Ars Apodemica Online – an online database of the arts of travel’.
Dr Cheryl Fury (University of New Brunswick, Saint John): ‘The Human Dimension of the Early Voyages of the English East India Company’.
Dr Maura Hanrahan (Memorial University, Newfoundland): ‘Transcribing and Contextualizing the Diary of Bjarne Mamen of the Canadian Arctic Expedition, 1913–1914’.
Stephanie Mawson (PhD Candidate, University of Cambridge): ‘Slavery, Trade and Witchcraft in the Seventeenth-Century Spanish Pacific’.
María Gracia Ríos (PhD candidate, Yale University): ‘Claiming Sovereignty: Sir Francis Drake and the Just Titles of Spain to the Indies’.
Dr Sarah Thomas (Birkbeck, University of London): ‘The Art of Travel in the Name of Science’.

Short-Term Research Fellowship awarded for the year 2016:

Katherine Parker (PhD candidate, University of Pittsburgh): ‘Studies in the Reception and Dissemination of the Anson Expedition’.

RSS  |  Twitter  |  Facebook